Healthcare Workforce Development Division

Shortage Designation Program

The Shortage Designation Program (SDP) provides technical assistance to clinics and other primary care providers seeking recognition as a federally designated Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) for Primary Care, Dental Health, and Mental Health disciplines or Medically Underserved Area/Medically Underserved Population (MUA/MUP). SDP provides data analysis services and liaisons between the federal government and healthcare provider sites applying for HPSA or MUA/MUP status. Shortage designations:

  • Enable clinics to be eligible for assignment of National Health Services Corp Personnel or apply for Rural Health Clinic Certification, Federally Qualified Health Center status (FQHC), FQHC Look-Alike, or New Start/Expansion program, depending on the designation
  • Promote OSHPD's vision of "Access to safe, quality healthcare environments that meet California's diverse and dynamic needs."

The program is the State's liaison to the federal Shortage Designation Branch (SDB) of Health Resources and Services Administration, The program was authorized by Congress as the Emergency Health Personnel Act of 1970 under the U.S. Public Health Service Act. The federal government funds the program. Criteria, amendments, and authorizations:

Announcements!

compass with the word change inside OSHPD presents The HPSA & MUA/MUP Mini-Workshop August 14th in Tulare County. Stay tuned for additional information.

The HPSA application process has undergone significant changes.
Read more...


RESOURCES

Contacts:

Liz Martin, Chief
Access to Care Section
Telephone: (916) 326-3706
Email: Liz.Martin@oshpd.ca.gov

Hovik Khosrovian, Manager
Shortage Designation Program
Telephone: (916) 326-3734
Email: Hovik.Khosrovian@oshpd.ca.gov

Kyra Awuni, Program Analyst
Proactive Shortage Designations
Telephone: (916) 326-3632
Email: Kyra.Awuni@oshpd.ca.gov

Richard Creer, Program Analyst
Mental Health Shortage Designations
Telephone: (916) 326-3715
Email: Richard.Creer@oshpd.ca.gov

Bally Nagra, Program Analyst
Proactive Shortage Designations
Telephone: (916) 326-3714
Email: Baljinder.Nagra@oshpd.ca.gov

Carol Petuela, Program Analyst
Shortage Designation Program
Telephone: (916) 326-3716
Email: Carol.Petuela@oshpd.ca.gov

Click here to join our distribution list
Page last revised: July 22, 2014 11:53 AM