Shortage Designation Program

Announcements

24th Annual HPSA & MUA/MUP Workshop
  • April 6 & 7, 2017
  • Hotel Pacific – 300 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940

For more information or to RSVP, please email shortage@oshpd.ca.gov.

The Shortage Designation Program (SDP) provides technical assistance to clinics and other primary care providers seeking recognition as a federally designated Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) for Primary Care, Dental Health, and Mental Health disciplines or Medically Underserved Area/Medically Underserved Population (MUA/MUP). SDP provides data analysis services and liaisons between the federal government and healthcare provider sites applying for HPSA or MUA/MUP status. Shortage designations:

  • Enable clinics to be eligible for assignment of National Health Services Corp Personnel or apply for Rural Health Clinic Certification, Federally Qualified Health Center status (FQHC), FQHC Look-Alike, or New Start/Expansion program, depending on the designation
  • Promote OSHPD's vision of "Access to safe, quality healthcare environments that meet California's dynamic and diverse needs."

The program is the State's liaison to the federal Shortage Designation Branch (SDB) of Health Resources and Services Administration, The program was authorized by Congress as the Emergency Health Personnel Act of 1970 under the U.S. Public Health Service Act. The federal government funds the program. Criteria, amendments, and authorizations:


This page was last updated on Tuesday, March 14, 2017.

SDP Contacts
Hovik Khosrovian, Manager

Shortage Designation Program
Telephone: (916) 326-3734
Email: Hovik.Khosrovian@oshpd.ca.gov

Richard Creer, Program Analyst

Mental Health Shortage Designations
Telephone: (916) 326-3715
Email: Richard.Creer@oshpd.ca.gov

Bally Nagra, Program Analyst

Proactive Shortage Designations
Telephone: (916) 326-3717
Email: Baljinder.Nagra@oshpd.ca.gov

Steffi Wong, Program Analyst

Shortage Designation Program
Telephone: (916) 326-3717
Email: Steffi.Wong@oshpd.ca.gov

Matthew Ortiz, Health Program Specialist

Shortage Designation Program
Telephone: (916) 326-3745
Email: Matthew.Ortiz@oshpd.ca.gov

Elyssa Urias, Program Analyst

Shortage Designation Program
Telephone: (916) 326-3718
Email: Elyssa.Urias@oshpd.ca.gov

Connect With Us

Subscribe to Email OSHPD on Twitter OSHPD on Facebook Visit OSHPD on YouTube OSHPD on LinkedIn